Remembering the Eagle Squadrons


Eagle Squadron symbol, from Churchill Memorial.

For more than a year before the United States entered World War II some of its young men violated the neutrality acts and went through Canada to enlisted in the Royal Air Force (RAF) to fight Germany alongside the British. That was 70 years ago this month.

During the Battle of Britain, the RAF accepted a few young American pilots, but the effort was not well organized. Nonetheless, eight Americans fought in the RAF during the Battle of Britain, most of them serving with No. 609 Squadron. At first incorporated into all British units, as more pilots volunteered for the RAF the British decided to organize three squadrons of Americans, the so‑called Eagle Squadrons.

The Eagle Squadron concept was first proposed by Charles Sweeny, a wealthy American in London, and was accepted by the Secretary of State for Air because of its public relations value. It conjured up images of a similar venture in World War I, the Lafayette Escadrille, and lent credibility to the role of Britain as a leader of an international coalition to defeat the Nazis. In antitipation of the flow of recruits from the United States, the RAF established Squadron No. 71, the first Eagle Squadron, at Church Fenton, 180 miles north of London in September 1940. The first men to join the squadron arrived on 19 September 1940: Eugene Q. Tobin, Los Angeles; Andrew Mamedoff, of Connecticut; and Vernnon Keough, Brooklyn, all ex‑patriots who had fought with the RAF in France and in No. 609 Squadron during the Battle of Britain. No. 71 Squadron’s first commander was Squadron Leader Walter Myers Churchill, an English pilot and war hero. During the fall of 1940 No. 71’s personnel continued to grow. On 7 November 1940 the first aircraft arrived for the squadron, nine Hawker Hurricanes, as well as several additional American volunteers.

Chesley G. Peterson

Among the new pilots was a tall, raw‑boned Utah native, Chesley G. Peterson, who would become one of the youngest aces of the war and would command the Eagle Squadrons after their incorporation into the United States Army Air Forces in 1942. I had the pleasure of conducting an oral history with Peterson in the mid-1980s and his story was fascinating.

In January 1941 Squadron Leader Churchill was placed in charge of an RAF wing and was succeeded by American William E.G. Taylor, who had fought with the British since early in the war. The RAF declared the squadron operational early in February 1941, and moved it to Martlesham Heath, some 65 miles northeast of London, for combat activities.

The RAF formed the second Eagle Squadron, number 121, in mid‑May 1941 at a Kirton‑on‑Lindsey base. RAF Fighter Command also appointed another Battle of Britain hero to lead No. 121 Squadron, Peter Powell, an ace with seven enemy planes to his credit. A third Eagle Squadron, number 133, was activated on 1 August 1941 and stationed near RAF Station Duxford, five miles south of Cambridge. Its British commander, Squadron Leader George A. Brown, had been associated with No. 71 Squadron and proved to be an exceptional commander. Both squadrons were equipped with Hawker Hurricanes. In August 1941 the RAF began swapping out the Hurricanes for the newer Spitefires in the Eagle Squadrons.

In all, 243 Americans fought in these three Eagle Squadrons while associated with the RAF. Almost one‑third of these men were killed in action during World War II. The Eagle Squadrons acquitted themselves ably in combat. No. 71 Squadron, for example, accounted for three Messerschmitt 109 fighters on its first combat engagement on 2 July 1941. Throughout the remainder of 1941 and most of 1942 the three Eagle Squadrons continued to serve in the RAF.

Digital Art by Kevin Jongen, representing a pair of Vb's of 71 "Eagle" Squadron. XR-C is Sqn Ldr Chesley Peterson's aircraft circa August 1942.

On the night of 7 December 1941, after they received news of the Pearl Harbor attack, representatives of the Eagle Squadrons visited the American Ambassader in London to offer their service to the United States Army Air Forces. While continuing to operate with the RAF, during the spring and summer of 1942 the Army Air Forces sent representatives to the Eagle Squadrons to gather information on tactics and organization and to lay the groundwork with the British for combined air operations against Germany. On 12 September 1942 the three Eagle Squadrons were incorporated into the Army Air Forces as the 334th, 335th, and 336th Fighter Squadrons. These units were combined into the newly activated 4th Fighter Group of the American Eighth Air Force. Although they first operated with Spitefires, in March 1943 the group transi­tioned to P‑47s and in April 1944 to P‑51s. The 4th Fighter Group served in combat in Europe from October 1942 through April 1945 and destroyed more enemy aircraft in the air and on the ground than any other fighter group of the Eighth Air Force.

This entry was posted in aeronautics, aviation, History, World War II and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Remembering the Eagle Squadrons

  1. Steven E. Sidebotham says:

    Hello,

    I am a history professor at the University of Delaware. My wife and I have conducted oral interviews of WWII vets since June 2004 for use in my undergraduate and graduate-level history seminars. We would very much like to interview any surviving US pilots who served in the RAF Eagle Squadrons. PLEASE reply if you are one of these men or if you know someone who served in this capacity and would be willing to sit with us for an interview.

    THANKS!

    Like

    • launiusr says:

      I am not a veteran of the Eagle Squadrons, but I did interview Chesley Peterson while an historian with the USAF in the mid 1980s.

      Like

      • Jill Gentry says:

        I stumbled on your blog when looking for information about my grandmother, Nancy Marting Halverstadt. Her brother was Harold Marting, mentioned in your blog. There was a comment written by his daughter Marilyn Marting Jensen. I would love to be able to email her. Would you have a record of her email address? Thank you so much. I checked Facebook but no luck.

        Liked by 1 person

      • launiusr says:

        I will send a note to this person with your address. If she wishes to contact you she may do so.

        Liked by 1 person

    • denis sutton says:

      Hi, I have a picture of the spits + a hurrican overlaid on a air map of the continent of france. surrounding this there are over 150 signatures of the guys who flew with 71,121,and 133 sqns. 1940/1942. written in different hands,diff. inks, diff.pens. i,m sure its one of a limited number of copies. The RAF museums have nothing on it. I want to know how it came into being. I’m hopeing someone still surviveing might have some info that could help ??

      Like

      • Antoune Holmes says:

        I also have a picture of a Spitfire, which I purchased from the USAF Musem near Dayton Ohio in the 1980’s.
        The Spitfire is on a flying map of the Midlands and Wales.
        It appears that this was put together using signatures from survivors and also using signatures from documents from those who did not survive.
        My late father-in-law was a flight Mechanic attached to 121 in Kirton -in -Lindsey, and saw Pilot Officer Sam Whedon off on his last flight, he died as the result of a crash.
        We are interested in attempting to contact any of his descendents. We have visited his grave in Kirton. We do believe that he originated from the Beverley Hills Area.
        Can anyone help.

        Like

      • launiusr says:

        I hope someone can help you out. You might contact the USAF museum in Dayton, OH, to see if they can be of any help.

        Like

      • kevin millin says:

        Dennis, I too have that same print with autographs. My wife’s uncle, Richard G. Braley, flew in the 133rd and, it is my understanding, that a reunion was held and these prints were given to squadron members and all were encouraged to sign them. The reunion was some years after the war, not sure when. Richard “Dick” Braley gave me this print 15 years ago. Kevin

        Like

      • Nicholas M. Wallace says:

        Hi Kevin,

        My Dad was a charter member of the 71St Eagle Squadron. How do I get a copy of the page of signatures?

        Nick
        Nicholas M. Wallace
        832-816-3472
        wallacen@swbell.net

        Like

    • Lynn Brown Shope says:

      Hello,
      I was on the web searching for a site to find information on visiting Debden as I will be
      in London next week when I saw your post.
      My father, Carl F. Brown, Jr. (89yurs. old) lives in Huntingdon, PA and was a Captain in the Air Force flying with the Eagle Squadron. He was with the 8th air force, 4th fighter group, 334th squadron and flew a P-51. He first flew on D+3 and completed 71 sorties. Among his many awards he holds the Distinguished Flying Medal. He flew
      under the command of Col. Blakslee and actually flew as his wingman on his first mission over Germany.
      Dad is well and in fairly good shape and I think would be willing to sit for an interview.
      Last year he addressed the Roundtable of WWII vets for Central PA and did a great job.

      His email is carlbrownp51@aol.com. – great stories – very detailed information about the planes, etc.
      Thank you,
      Lynn Brown Shope

      Like

    • Wilor Bluege says:

      My uncle, George S. Maxwell, was with the 71st Eagle Squadron. He is now 93 years old and is currently in Washington Hospital Center in D.C., suffering heart arrhythmia. He’s been there for almost a month and in ICU most of the time. As his life hangs on a thread, I have been writing about his life, and trying to find out all I can. As a child, I remember seeing pictures of him with his squad at an airfield in England and in the N. African desert somewhere, standing next to his airplane on which he had painted the name of my older sister, calling it “The Carol E.”
      I would like to know if anyone remembers George and if anyone can enlighten me about the specifics of missions he might have flown in Europe, N. Africa, or Asia. I seem to recall a mention of him serving under Montgomery’s command at some point.
      Thank you.
      Wilor Bluege

      Like

      • launiusr says:

        I hope someone will be able to help you out in tracking down information about your uncle and his role in World War II. One place you might consider contacting is the Air Force Historical Research Agency, http://www.afhra.af.mil/, of course it would only have something if your uncle transferred from the Eagle Squadron to the Army Air Corps. I wish you the best in your search.

        Like

      • sally says:

        Hello
        My father, the late James A. Gray was in 71 with your uncle. He for years was the adjutant of the Eagle Squadron but he passed away Nov. 2009. I’m still going through his great collection of Eagle memorabilia & notes/letters/research. If I find anything I can let you know.

        Like

      • Wilor Bluege says:

        Thank you Sally, I would really appreciate anything you can pass along.
        Wilor
        (Since writing my comment on the blog, my uncle, G.S. Maxwell, died on August 26, 2012. He had turned 94 on August 20th. He stopped eating on that day and died six days later. He leaves a large hole in our lives but wonderful memories.)

        Like

      • marilyn marting jensen says:

        My Father, Harold F. Marting was, I think, a member of the 71st. Squadron. He was a pilot and was shot down the day before the battle of El Alamein. Taken prisoner by the Italians, transferred to Athens, and held in the Rex Hotel. He escaped, was rescued by the Greek Underground, eventually ferried to Turkey via fishing boat, and made his way back to Cairo.
        I have the article he wrote in Amerian Magazine about his escape, plus a letter from a Greek woman who helped him and used to write to me as a child.

        My information is sketchy, as I knew him briefley as a 9 year old. He resigned his commission from RCAF, and became a test pilot for Curtiss Wright. I think he resigned in June 1943 (after his hospitalization for recovery from scurvy) and died in a plane crash in September 1943 at the age of 32.

        Like

    • Nicholas M. Wallace says:

      Perhaps, too late for your project: my father, Thomas C. Wallace, was a charter member of RAF 71 (Eagle) Squadron, surviving the War. I have his log book and several photos, plus stories he related to my brother and me over the years. He died 16 November 1968. After he transferred into the USAAF, he married Carole Landis (“Four Jills in a Jeep”); “Pete” Peterson was his best man.

      Like

      • Sally Gray Duprey says:

        Nicholas-.FYI my dad Jim “Jerko” Gray, who passed away 11/25/09, & was adjutant for the Eagle Squadron flew wingman for your father & always remembered him fondly to us. In fact I still have a copy of 1981 letter my dad wrote to someone thanking them for their help in establishing your dad’s date of death, as he & my mom were always researching around the world before the days of the internet.. In the letter my dad wrote about Carole, how your dad & her met & the movie. Dad also said, “We sure miss Tommy at our annual reunions, he was a great guy & it was my pleasure to have known & flown with him.” Dad of course had a copy of “Four Jills” which I now have. My dad also told us the story of how he gave up some of his war rations to Tommy so they could afford their wedding…sigh. Good men, good dads. I know I sure miss mine, especially with anniversary of his death day after tomorrow. All my best to you.

        Like

      • Nicholas M. Wallace says:

        Sally,

        Thanks for your kind words/comments. If it’s not too personal, I’d like to have a copy of the letter. Also, if you have any photos/materials about the 71st Eagle Squadron, I would be grateful for anything. I just sent some photos and clippings to Wally Fydenchuk, who you may know is writing/compiling all sorts of info in his book “Immigrants of War” (latest edition – Oct 2013). I am particularly interested in finding a photograph that my Dad showed me, many moons ago, of the original 71st Eagles posing in their RAF uniforms. It looked like an official photo. If you have this photo or ones like it, I would be eternally in your debt for a copy. I think that it was one of a trunk full of Eagle Squadron papers, uniforms, flight gear, etc. that my Dad had kept. My Mom gave most of this to the Smithsonian, so I have been looking for this one photo for some time. I still have my Dad’s leather flight helmet and oxygen mask, and some other material that I sent copies of to Wally.

        I read your Dad’s page in Wally’s book, and I have to say that Dad also commented that both the RAF and the planes were better flying than the p-47’s. But, he did make the transfer into the USAAF; I think mostly to insure that he regained his US citizenship.

        My email address is wallacen@swbell.net and my brother Barry’s is bwallacek@q.com.

        Hope to hear from you soon

        Nick

        Like

    • Naomi S says:

      Hello, my father was a member of the 334th Fighter Squadron. He flew a P-51 and was shot down over France. I know this is years after your post, but he would like to contact any living members of the 334th. If you have any information you could share, he would appreciate it very much. Thank you!

      Like

    • I believe Andrew Mamedoff was Jewish and many accounts say so. Can anyone provide proof as his grave has a cross on it and it should be changed

      Like

  2. Pingback: Eagles All! | Adventures in History

  3. MHoppe says:

    I just read the letter from Antoune Holmes; I am a relative of Sam Whedon. If Mr. Holmes would like to get a hold of me regarding Sam, please reply.

    Like

  4. Cate says:

    My uncle John “Jack” Mooney was with the 121 Eagle Squadron and was killed in action on June 16, 1942. We just came across an article (I think in the NY Times) that said that he was to be married to a woman on the W.A..A.F.s in two weeks time. Any ideas about how we might be able to find out who see was?

    Like

    • launiusr says:

      If you have any additional information about Jack Mooney it might provide some leads. But absent that I wouldn’t know how to proceed. Good luck in trying to track something down.

      Like

      • Cate Mooney says:

        Found out her name was Daphne Clarke, and she was 17 years old in June, 1942. But haven’t been able to find out what became of her after my uncle was KIA…

        Like

  5. Tom Walsh says:

    Hello,

    My name is Tom Walsh and I live in London, Ontario, Canada. I recently wrote a book entitled “Remembering The Canadian Yanks”. More than 8,860 Americans served all or part of their Air Force careers in the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF) in WW II. I am gathering together material for Volume II of the same title which will be published in about a year’s time. I am keenly interested in communicating with Marilyn Marting Jensen, the daughter of RCAF Flying Officer (FO) Harold Fesler “Bud” Marting, who was awarded a Military Medal for his exploits in 1943. FO Marting had three confirmed aerial victories to his credit along with one aircraft probably destroyed and one damaged. His story will be one of thirty-five biographies in Volume II.

    Cheers,

    Tom Walsh.

    Like

    • Wilor Bluege says:

      My uncle, George S. Maxwell, II, was one of those pilots in the RCAF in WWII. He died at age 94 in August of 2011. I attended his burial (which had been postponed by necessity) at Arlington National Cemetery this past May, 2012. He had reached the rank of Colonel in the USAAF, and full military honors were accorded him at burial. I wrote a short personal memoir/biography of his life in 2011, which I would be pleased to send you (in PDF file format), if you would be interested.
      Best wishes on your project.
      Wilor Bluege

      Like

  6. Alfred Pratt says:

    Dear Tom Walsh Your site is very interesting and I am touched that relatives of those who fought for our freedom still take an interest in the facts. Harold F. Marting interests me particularly as a brave and enterprising warrior. If you can let us know on the blog when he arrived in England to join “Eagle Squadron”, it would help me with some research I am doing in an allied subject. Could he at all possibly have spent the best part of 1939 in England before the formation of his squadron. Was he a keen golfer and might he have played in the 1939 British Open or Amateur Championships in Britain?

    ALFRED PRATT

    Like

  7. Alfred Pratt says:

    Thank you very much indeed for entering my earlier query in your blogsite. Did Harold F. Marting M.C. have to spend two months in hospital in Egypt, recovering from open boat expoure or other injuries and did he ever mention contact with prominant figures in the professional golf world in the period 1938 until his untimely and tragic death in 1953? I look forward to hearing any news in this area. Was his incredible escape and enterprising action reported in any prominent journals in the USA or Canada ( eg “Time”, “Life”, “Golf”, etc) between 1946 and 1951? Sincerely, ALFRED PRATT

    Like

  8. Alfred Pratt says:

    Dear Tom Walsh & Relatives of Harold Marting, My daughter has unearthed something but not what I am seeking for my research project. You might find this useful. See rcafdunnville.blogsite.co.nz for Harold Fesler Marting (J/4919) RCAF 1941 attended Course Number 18 at RAF Number 6 Service Flying Scholl, Dunnville, Canada (29th March 1941). The rest of his training schedule is included in a news report in an Ottawa newspaper 29th July (I think it must be 1942) on the occasion of his award of the first Military Cross to a “Canadian”. Enlistment rported dated October 1940. Dunville I see has an Email address wpf13@hotmail.com
    He seems to have been a fast learner and soon joined an active service RAF fighter squadron. I really would like to know whether the hospitalisation for scurvy was in America/Canada or Egypt or did he have two doses of hospital, one 8in each. I hope this information is helpful to you.

    ALFRED PRATT

    Like

  9. Tom Walsh says:

    Mr. Pratt,

    I initiated a search through Library & Archives Canada on FO H. F. “Bud” Marting last month. It will be several months before I receive a transcript of his RCAF records as the staff in Ottawa is small and are overworked. As soon as I have the information you require, I will post it here.

    Cheers,

    Tom Walsh.

    Like

  10. Alfred Pratt says:

    For Friends, Family and Researchers for Harold F. Marting here are two websites that are interesting in case you have not yet discovered them. I believe I cannot add any further contribution but will observe to see if any answers that help me arrive on your blog site. Sincerely

    ALFRED PRATT
    http://airforce.ca/awards.php?search=&keyword=&page=472&mem=&type=rcaf
    http://legionmagazine.com/en/index.php/2007/09/tales-of-flight/

    Like

  11. I have plenty of information about Harold Fesler Marting and over 10,000 other Americans who volunteered for service with the RAF and RCAF and the three Eagle Squadrons during the Second World War. Some of the material has been published in my book, Immigrants of War, of which eight editions have been published. Please contact me if you required additional information: wpf13@hotmail.com

    or visit my blog: http://www.immigrantsofwar.blogspot.ca

    Correction to the No. 6 SFTS Dunnville link posted on this site: http://www.rcafdunnville.blogspot.ca

    Like

  12. janet smith says:

    My great aunt married her childhood sweetheart they had just two weeks together before he was killed at el alamein he was a pilot we buried her today wish I had asked his full name only know he was called reg

    Like

  13. Tom Walsh says:

    HEROLD MARTING – INDIANA FIGHTER PILOT

    Herold Fesler “Bud” Marting was born on March 1, 1911 in the village of Eckerty in Crawford County, Indiana. He was the only son of second generation Pennsylvania Dutch parents, Uriah William Marting and Lillian Fesler. Herold attended Danville Grade School in Danville, Indiana from 1916 to 1924. He completed his secondary education at Danville High School in 1927. Following his graduation, he enlisted in the United States Marine Corps (USMC) serving as a rifleman in the continental United States, Haiti and the Virgin Islands. Completing four years of general service duty, he was honourably discharged as a Corporal in 1931. Marting enrolled at Central Normal College in Danville, remaining there until 1933. From 1934 until 1937 he was employed by the U. S. Government Accounting Office as a Junior Accountant. For the next three years he worked as a personal assistant to Atlanta, Georgia businessman C. C. Barnes. It was through this employment where Herold developed a keen interest in flying. He and his boss frequently flew to and from business meetings in the company aircraft. Barnes, however, did not hold an instructor’s rating, so the 245 flying hours Bud accumulated (dual, solo and passenger) could not be officially logged. C. C. Barnes unexpectedly passed away early in 1940 leaving Herold without a job. The resourceful Marting quickly found another position, clear across the country in Seattle, Washington as an Inspector with the Stetson-Ross Machine Company.

    Later that year with the war in Europe full bloom, Bud, now 29, was looking to somehow get involved. He was well past the maximum age for acceptance into any of the american military flying programmes, so on Thursday, October 10, 1940, he travelled 119 road miles from Seattle to Vancouver, British Columbia where he voluntarily enlisted in the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF) at No. 1 Recruiting Centre. The Recruiting Officer made the following entry in his file; “An American citizen. Discharged USMC Corporal who earned a Good Conduct Medal. Has 2 years college and quite good civilian work experience. Considerable passenger flying experience and some solo – enough to have established an aptitude for flying. Is a good type, direct, straight forward and gentlemanly. Fully matured – manly and confident. Courteous and accustomed to discipline. He is an above average amateur golfer. He is keen to serve as a pilot and I judge him to be a man who will do well”.

    Herold stated on his application that he was single, but he was in fact divorced and had a five year old daughter who lived with her mother in Indianapolis, Indiana.

    Assigned Regimental Service No. R.74733, Aircraftsman 2nd Class (AC2) Marting was sent to No. 2 Manning Depot at Brandon, Manitoba for three weeks of basic training. This was followed by an additional month of instruction at No. 2 Initial Training School (ITS) in Regina, Saskatchewan. On November 29, he was promoted from AC2 to Leading Aircraftsman (LAC). Moving quickly through the system he furthered his training flying wooden and fabric covered Fleet Finch II Biplanes at No. 7 Elementary Flying Training School (EFTS) at Windsor, Ontario. Graduating first in his class on January 16, 1941, with a mark of 88.47%, Herold was immediately posted to No. 6 Service Flying Training School (SFTS) at Air Station Dunnville, Ontario. There he flew North American Aviation (NAA) Harvard and Yale advanced trainers on course No. 18. Marting graduated and earned his Wings as a Sergeant Pilot (SP) on March 30. He faired very well in this course finishing third in a class of forty-five students. Later that day he was Commissioned from the ranks as a Pilot Officer (PO). His Service No. was changed from R.74733 to J.4919.

    Marting was disappointed when he was posted on April 6, to the Central Flying School (CFS) at RCAF Air Station Trenton, Ontario where he was scheduled to begin a five week Flying Instructors (FI) Course. He begrudingly completed the curriculum on May 10, but in the interim, managed to convince his superiors that he would be much happier serving in a combat role as opposed to remaining in Canada as an instructor. After all, that was why he came north – to fly and fight! His persistence on this point paid off when he was posted on May 29, to No. 1 Port Transit Unit (PTU), “Y” Depot, Pier 21, Halifax, Nova Scotia for deployment to England. Herold remarried his former wife Frances in a ceremony in Indianapolis on May 14, 1941 during his embarkation period of leave. The troop ship carrying him and hundreds of others across the North Atlantic arrived at Glasgow, Scotland on June 28. En route, the boat had to divert into Iceland for minor repairs. A day long train ride, which ran the entire length of Britain from north to south, deposited the tired airmen at their final destination – No. 3 Personnel Reception Centre (PRC), Bournemouth, Hampshire. On July 7, 1941, Herold began flying Miles Master I’s and Hawker Hurricanes Mk. I’s at Royal Air Force (RAF) No. 59 Operational Training Unit (OTU) Crosby-on-Eden. Completing the course on August 26, he was posted to RAF No. 71 Eagle Squadron (ES) which flew defensive patrols from Martlesham Heath in Supermarine Spitfire Vb variants over southern England and offensive sorties over northern Europe.

    There has been some suggestion that Marting was also assigned to RAF No. 121 ES. The author has been unable to locate any official documentation in this regard.

    When the United States came into the war on December 8, 1941, many of the Eagle Squadron members pushed for transfers to a more active combat zone, Marting among them. Promoted from PO to Flying Officer (FO), Herold shipped out on March 30, 1942 to RAF Middle East Command (MEC). From April to July he was assigned to No. 21 Personnel Transit Centre (PTC) at Kasfareet airfield in Egypt. On July 31, he was posted to Royal Australian Air Force (RAAF) No. 450 Squadron who were flying Curtiss- Wright Kittyhawk Mk. Ia’s (P-40E’s) and Mk. III’s (P-40K/M’s) in the fighter-bomber role during the North African campaign. When he arrived, the squadron was operating from Landing Ground (LG) 91 Amriya South and called themselves “The Desert Harassers”.

    The squadron pilots and groundcrew led a miserable nomadic lifestyle, living in tents, existing on rationed water, eating terrible food and on top of all that, were constantly moving back and forth to airfields in Egypt and Libya in support of the British 8th Army.

    It didn’t take Bud long to run up a score:

    September 15, 1942 – He destroyed a German Messerschmitt Bf 109 fighter and damaged another at El Alamein while flying Kittyhawk Ia EV160.

    October 20, 1942 – He destroyed an Italian Macchi C.202 fighter at Fuka while flying Kittyhawk III FR251.

    October 23, 1942 – He destroyed a German Messerschmitt Bf 109 fighter at EI Alamein while flying Kittyhawk III FR309.

    On October 24, Marting took off with other members of his squadron from LG 175 Sallum in support of an early morning bombing raid of the enemy airfield at EI Daba, Egypt. While closing on a fighter aircraft which got airborne during the chaos, Herold’s Kittyhawk Mk. IV (a P-40N) was struck by anti-aircraft fire and crashed in the middle of a recently laid minefield. Landing safely by parachute, Bud was surrounded by soldiers from the 62nd Italian Infantry Battalion who promptly arrested him. One of them stole his watch! He was taken to their Commander where he was fed breakfast and later was given some “schnaps” to drink. An hour later he rode on a motorcycle, under escort, to the Battalion’s Headquarters (HQ) for questioning. As a Prisoner of War (PoW), he refused to answer all questions put to him with the exception of his name, rank and unit. Sent by car to the units Divisional HQ, he was questioned for an hour by an Intelligence Officer, but told him nothing of allied operational matters. An Italian General and his subordinate staff at this location treated Bud courteously and gave him some coffee. Put into a car with a driver and two guards, Marting was transported to another HQ site, where he was further interrogated this time by a skillfull Italian Officer who spoke very good english. When the answers to the questions put to him were not forthcoming, a frustrated Italian Colonel burst into the room and demanded to know why America had declared war on Italy. His anger mounted when he began to shout that America and England had no business being in Africa!

    At sunset, Marting was sent by car to the EI Daba railroad station where he was turned over to two German Officers who gave him bread, soup and water. Herold was moved to Luftwaffe HQ where one of their more experienced Intelligence Officers interrogated him. The German treated him with respect, but questioned him thoroughly. He seemed to be very well informed and asked Bud; “How is your new Squadron Leader(SL) doing”? The SL had only been promoted two days previously. The German told Bud that the British Forces had a total of 1,900 aircraft in Africa, including those in maintenance shops and asked when the British push would begin. Marting laughed the question off and asked when the Germans would start their own offensive. Bud was able to ascertain that the following PoW’s were being detained; Sergeants Ewing, Evans, Holloway and Lindsay from No. 450 Squadron, PO Hogg from No. 112 Squadron and Lieutenant MacKay a South African Air Force (SAAF) fighter pilot.

    That evening, Herold was placed in a tent with four American PoW’s. Each was given a blanket and they had to sleep on the sand. Their guards took their boots to prevent them from escaping. The following morning they were awakened at 0600 hours. They were given a French Army overcoat, three days of food rations and, along with seven guards, boarded a stake truck for the trip to Tobruk. They stopped at Gambut for the evening and arrived at their destination on the morning of the 26th. Their names were recorded on a manifest list for passage by air to Greece aboard a Junkers Ju 52/3M Transport. The first part of the journey was a one hour flight to the Island of Crete where the plane refuelled. From there it was a four hour flight to Eleusina airfield near Athens. The prisoners were sequestered on the third floor of the Rex Hotel and were advised that they would be moved to Germany on October 30. Herold devised an escape plan which the others declined to participate in, deeming it too risky. They did however, promise to cover up his departure for as long as possible. On the 29th, Marting stole a cap and a pair of trousers from the duffle bag of one of his guards who was taking an afternoon nap in an adjacent room. The other guard was in another room listening to a British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) radio broadcast. Herold quietly exited the building via the hotels fire escape. From the courtyard he scaled a 12′ wall, walked several blocks and luckily fell into the hands of members of the Greek Resistance.

    Herold was hidden from the Germans at various safe houses until December 12. Over a five day peroid he was moved across land and water finally reaching the safety of Turkey on the 17th. He arrived back in Cairo on New Year’s Eve, 1942 and casually walked into the Officers Mess to greet fellow American pilots Edward Miluck and Charles Tribken. Miluck later wrote; “What a New Years Eve. Bud acted as if he had just stepped out for a drink”.

    The following message dated 9 February, 1943 was sent from RCAF Overseas HQ in London, England to the Department of National Defence (DND) for Air in Ottawa, Ontario; “A signal was received on 15 January, 1943 from MEC HQ stating that Flying Officer H. F. Marting, J.4919, had been shot down and taken prisoner on 23 October, 1942. He was removed to Greece, where he managed to escape, reporting back to HQ Middle East on 31 December, 1942. FO Marting has completed 140 operational sorties with a record of three aircraft confirmed and one damaged. He is an American citizen, formerly with RAF No. 71 Eagle Squadron and does not wish to be transferred to the United States Army Air Forces (USAAF). He is reported to have a good record and in view of his harrowing experience and the unusual circumstances in which he escaped from the enemy, his repatriation to Canada to carry on with the RCAF is recommended. The circumstances of his case were reviewed at this HQ and as MEC HQ has agreed to release him, his repatriation is approved. Advice has now been received that Flying Officer Marting has proceeded by air, via the United States, in a USAAF aircraft departing on 6 February, 1943”.

    Marting came down with scurvy while on the run from his captors in Greece. The disease left him feeling exhausted. Parts of his body would swell up and his gums and teeth bled. Consequently, he was not in the best of health when he returned to Canada on February 15. He was removed from flight status, hospitalized, treated with Vitamin C and B complex and given extensive dental treatment. His condition improved, but he tired easily and periodically suffered from inflammation of the gums. He looked into transferring to the USAAF, but that was not possible as he was not medically fit to fly. Herold tried to persuade his wife to move to Canada as it was a financial strain trying to maintain two households. She refused stating she did not want their child uprooted halfway through the school year. She then gave him an ultimatum, return home or she would divorce him! Bud, under a great deal of stress, took his situation to the Air Force and asked them to release him from their service on compassionate grounds.

    A Medical Board comprised of seven RCAF Officers convened in Ottawa on May 27, 1943 to consider FO H. F. Marting’s case. Below are their findings and recommendations.

    “This Officer, aged 32 years, is an American citizen. His civilian experience included 3 years of general flying and maintenance training, 4 years service in the ranks of the USMC and employment as an Accountant with the United States General Accounting Office in Washington. He is married, having married, divorced and remarried the same woman and has one child.

    He was awarded the Pilot’s Flying Badge and appointed to a Commission in March, 1941, on graduation from No. 6 SFTS. He stood 3rd in a class of 45 and it was reported that he was an above average pilot, cool and steady, with no outstanding faults. He was at first posted to the CFS at Trenton, but in view of his strong desire for more active combat duties, he was posted overseas a short time later.

    After 8 months of operations in the United Kingdom with No. 71 ES, the subject officer was posted to the Middle East. He was on operations in the Middle East for 6 months and his operational flying time amounted to 140 hours.

    FO Marting was reported missing while on operations during the EI Alamein attack on 24 October, 1942. It was reported that his aircraft was one of a formation which set out on that day to escort bombers over a target and after bombing the target, one Kittyhawk was seen to engage the enemy at low level. It was not until the remainder of the squadron arrived back at their base that it was determined that FO Marting’s aircraft was missing.

    It was later ascertained that, on being shot down, he was taken prisoner by the enemy. He was taken to Greece and, while awaiting transfer to a prison camp in Germany, he escaped. After a period of 2 months as a fugitive, he arrived back in Egypt. During this time he was on starvation rations and he noticed that his gums were painful and that he was very weak.

    Upon reaching safety in Egypt, he reported sick. Scurvy was diagnosed and he was treated with Vitamin C.

    FO Marting was reported to have a good service record and, in view of his harrowing experience and the unusual circumstances in which he escaped from the enemy, his repatriation to Canada to carry on his duties with the RCAF had been recommended and that he had departed directly from the Middle East by air on 6 February, 1943.

    A letter received from this Officer, dated 23 March, 1943, while he was on repatriation leave, indicated he was making enquiries with regard to the possibility of his transfer to the Armed Forces of the United States. The Officer Commanding (OC), the Repatriation Pool (RP), RCAF Station Rockcliffe, to which this Officer was about to report, was instructed to advise him that such a transfer could not be effected.

    On April 16, 1943, the subject Officer requested that he be permitted to resign from the RCAF. He gave the following personal reasons for resignation. His wife was suing him for divorce as he was unable to return to the United States, that he found it very difficult to maintain his wife and daughter separately on his pay and allowances and that he had been offered positions by several airplane manufacturers in the United States, in which positions he felt he would be making an important contribution to the War effort. His chief reason for returning to the United States is to restore a normal relationship with his family.

    In support of his resignation, a letter was submitted from his wife’s Attorney certifying that divorce proceedings were instituted against him March 15, 1943. A letter from the Curtiss Wright Corporation, headquartered in Buffalo, New York was also presented, stating that if FO Marting was released from the RCAF, he would be employed by them as a Test Pilot.

    On May 4, 1943, a Medical Board categorized this Officer as A4HBH and diagnosed him to be suffering from scurvy and operational fatigue. He is presently on strength at the RP at Air Station Rockcliffe. A proposed posting of this Officer as an Instructor to No. 1 OTU, Bagotville, Quebec, has been held in abeyance until such time that he is categorized as being medically fit for a return to flight duties. It was recommended that his case be reviewed in three months time.

    It is the Board’s opinion and recommendation, that in view of this Officer’s excellent operational service record, his present physical condition and the unfortunate circumstances of his family life, an exception should be made in the application of the established policy governing the release of American Officers from the RCAF by accepting the subject Officer’s resignation.”

    FO Marting was honourably discharged from the RCAF on June 6, 1943, when the Minister of National Defence for Air and the Chief of the Air Staff signed of on the Medical Boards recommendation. Bud returned to the United States and joined his wife and child who were residing in the small community of Farmland, Indiana.

    On July 13, 1943, Herold was awarded a British Military Cross (MC) in recognition of his distinguished service.

    The Military Cross, created on December 31, 1914, was a third level military decoration earmarked for Commissioned Army Officers of the substantive rank of Captain or below. It formally recognized, “an act or acts of exemplary gallantry during active operations against the enemy on land”. In 1931, the award was extended to those holding the rank of Major and also to members of the RAF for actions on the ground.

    At 1400 hours, on Wednesday, September 22, 1943, thirty-two year old Herold Fesler Marting died in the crash of a P-40N Warhawk at Bishopville, South Carolina.

    ***

    The author gratefully thanks the following who provided information for this article: Library and Archives Canada and “Eagles of the RAF” by Philip D. Caine.

    Like

  14. Tom Walsh says:

    The above story is included in Volume 2 of “Remembering The Canadian Yanks” which is due out this winter. Volume 1 of this title is available now at amazon.com or borders.com. There is a book review on Volume 1 in the September, 2013 issue of Flypast Magazine.

    Cheers,

    Tom Walsh.

    Like

  15. George Chalkiadopoulos says:

    Hello to all, I’m searching informations and photos about P/O Frank Zavakos (71st Eagle Squadron) and Sgt Nick Sintetos (121st Eagle Squadron). Can you help me please? I would be grateful for any help!!!

    Sincerely
    George Chalkiadopoulos
    please e-mail me at: georgechalkiadopoulos@yahoo.gr

    Like

    • Tom Walsh says:

      Pilot Officer Frank G. Zavakos, age 24, is listed as being a resident of the State of Ohio. He was killed when his aircraft crashed into the Sea while on a search and rescue sortie for downed bomber crews.

      Nicholas D. Sintetos, age 20, was also from Ohio. His occupation before joining the RAF was as a merchant.

      Like

  16. Tom Walsh says:

    Here is some additional information taken from his grave stone;

    Birth: 1917
    Death: Jun. 2, 1942

    In Loving Memory of our DEAR Son FRANK G ZAVAKOS 1917-1942 Flight Lieut R.A.F. who gave his life over England June 2 1942 while serving humanity during WWII

    Burial:
    Woodland Cemetery and Arboretum
    Dayton
    Montgomery County
    Ohio, USA

    Like

  17. Tom Walsh says:

    Here is some additional information on Nicholas D. Sintetos;

    Birth: Nov. 10, 1920
    Death: Nov. 4, 1999

    1LT, US ARMY AIR FORCES

    Burial:
    Riverside National Cemetery
    Riverside
    Riverside County
    California, USA
    Plot: AJ, B, 45

    After serving with the RAF, he transferred to the USAAF where he flew with the 64th FS, 57th FG.

    Like

  18. Kevin Francis says:

    I have just found out that my grandad Charles carpenter known as Charlie and my great uncle Eric brown were both members of 71st eagle squadron. Not pilots I don’t think but probably ground crew. If anyone has any information or photos it would be great to hear from you.
    Thanks
    Kev

    Like

  19. Chuck Hess says:

    I am married to the grand daughter of Colonel Charles Sweeny. I am currently writing a book about his life along with a professional writer. If you have any personal observations or photos of Sweeny we would be interested.

    Like

  20. This has been an excellent article written about the young Americans who gave up their time and lives to come to England to help us in our darkest hour , to help us fight against the evil forces of that terrible time that were in Germany and also for the freedom of all peoples who love freedom from darkness and tyranny for a free and Christian world for the benefit of all mankind . The eagle squadrons were magnificent indeed , Bless them all .

    Like

  21. Carolyn Dart says:

    I have just come across a press clipping saying my father AVN Ede was one of only 2 Australian flying with an American Eagle Squadron. Article dated July 1942. As my father is no longer alive I have no further information unfortunately.

    Like

  22. dave johnston says:

    many thanks to mr walsh for information about herold marting. any information about herold’s diary would be appreciated. frances marting married my father after herolds death. dave johnston

    Like

  23. Andy McMahon says:

    Hi there I was wondering if you could help me I am a volunteer working at The Brooklands Museum in England . My project at the moment is working on Hawker Hurricane Z2389 which I believe is the last remaining Hurricane that flew with Eagle Squadron in 1941. I am after copys of the pilots log books that we know flew this plane in May 1941 . The names I have are
    T.P. McGerty, K.S Taylor, R.C.Ward, J, Flyn, P.B.Provenzano, S.A.Mauriallo, , G.A.Daymond, W.I.Hall. these have been taken from the ORB .
    If you have any photos or copies of the log books that you could let us have copies of I would be most grateful. 
    The main aim it to try and get evidence of what Individual Squadron code
    XR-? letter Z2389 had on it when it flew with Eagle Squadron.
    Andy.mcmahon54@gmail.com

    Like

  24. For all correspondents – does anyone know how I can prove Andrew Mamedoff was Jewish as his grave has a cross on it and it should be changed as per Commonwealth War Graves Commission policy – but documentary proof of some kind (an attestation on a form etc?) is required

    Like

Leave a comment